Featured News

Challenging Minds

CCS Physics and UCSB Department of Physics faculty member Dr. Tengiz Bibilashvili’s dedication to challenging the minds of young, passionate scientists through friendly competition spans three decades and multiple continents. Recently, his commitment was recognized when the United States Association of Young Physicists Tournament (USAYPT) named “The Bibilashvili Award for Excellence in Physics” in his honor.  

An Explorer’s CCS Adventure

Kenny Broad’s journey from a BA in CCS Literature (’89) to a PhD in Anthropology from Columbia University to joining Miami University’s faculty and becoming National Geographic’s 2011 Explorer of the Year is anything but ordinary. While he is now a world-renowned cave diver, he joined CCS while still searching to find his place at UCSB. His passion for academia stemmed from the exceptional learning experience CCS offers all of its students.