NSF Announces 2021 Graduate Research Fellowship Awards

March 29, 2021

Six CCS students and alumni awarded distinguished fellowship

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has announced the 2021 Graduate Research Fellowship Program awardees. This prestigious award supports graduating seniors and beginning graduate students who are pursuing master’s or doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) fields. Of the 20 UC Santa Barbara awardees, 6 are CCS students and alumni.

Hearty congratulations to:

Alec Cao (CCS Physics ‘21)

Valerie Lensch (CCS Chemistry and Biochemistry ‘19)

Rachel Liu (CCS Biology ‘19)

David Lowe (CCS Biology ‘19)

Max Prichard (CCS Physics ‘21)

Nicholas Rommelfanger (CCS Physics ‘19)


We also extend our warm congratulations to those who received Honorable Mention:

Juan Lazaro Ruiz (CCS Physics '21)

Meredith Neyer (CCS Physics '21)

Nicholas O'Dea (CCS Physics '19 and L&S Statistics '19)

Aaron Peng (CCS Physics '20)

Veronica Torres (CCS Biology ‘20)